In the United States, approximately 1.4 million people are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs each year. This figure includes both men and women, and people of all ages. The vast majority of these arrests — approximately 1.2 million — are for driving while intoxicated (DWI), which is a criminal offense. The remaining 200,000 or so arrests are for driving under the influence (DUI), which is usually a misdemeanor.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 10,598 alcohol-related fatal vehicle crashes resulting in 11,654 deaths in 2020.
In Arizona, there are about 10,000 people involved in DUIs each year, or about 344 per 100,000 residents. This number has been fairly consistent over the past few years.
The Arizona zero-tolerance law means that if you are caught driving with a BAC of .08% or higher, you will be charged with a DUI. If you are under 21 years old, you will be charged with a DUI if you are caught driving with a BAC of .02% or higher. The penalties for a DUI in Arizona are severe and can include jail time, fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days.
Many drivers are arrested each year under zero tolerance. This is because many states have adopted a zero-tolerance policy for drinking and driving.
In Arizona, the legal limit is a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent, which is estimated to be about two drinks for an average-sized woman and three drinks for a man weighing over 200 pounds.
According to Arizona law, a “drink” means:
The person’s weight, tolerance levels, and the time between drinks all impact the ultimate calculation of a person’s BAC.
The impairment meaning under Arizona DUI is that a person’s ability to drive is impaired when their blood alcohol content is .08 or higher.
There are many factors that can contribute to impairment while driving, but Arizona DUI laws focus on two main types: alcohol and drugs.
For alcohol, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. For drugs, it is illegal to drive while impaired by any substance, whether it be illegal, prescription, or over-the-counter. impairment is relative, so even a small amount of either substance can result in a DUI.
In Arizona, if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher, you will be charged with a DUI.
Let’s break down what those look like:
Under Arizona’s zero-tolerance law, a DUI is considered to be driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. If you are caught driving +with a BAC of .08 or higher, you will be subject to the following penalties:t
If you are caught driving with a BAC of .15 or higher, you will be subject to the following penalties:
A DUI in Arizona is considered a super extreme DUI if the driver’s BAC is .20% or higher. This is much higher than the legal limit of .08%. A super extreme DUI is punishable by:
In Arizona, Aggravated DUI is classified as a felony. There are four different “aggravators” that can change a misdemeanor DUI into a felony.
This includes committing:
An Aggravated DUI is a very serious charge that requires immediate legal help. The DUI attorneys at Torgenson Law are experienced DUI lawyers who can review your case and quickly determine the best legal defense against these charges.
If you have been stopped and charged with a DUI, you need an attorney well-versed in Arizona DUI law — a DUI attorney that is ready to defend you against fines and possible jail time.
We understand that this can be a frustrating and challenging time for you and your family. We put all of the legal resources at our disposal to work on your case because we care about your claim and will work tirelessly for you. Contact us today for a free consultation.