Just like every other state in the country, Arizona law stipulates that individuals must be properly insured to remain legal on the roadway. However, a significant number of drivers in this state operate without insurance. Here, we want to discuss the various consequences of driving without insurance in this state. This includes potential monetary and civil penalties as well as financial consequences should an accident occur.
Did you know that approximately 12% of drivers in the state of Arizona do not have insurance? The Insurance Information Institute keeps track of this data, and that is an alarming figure. Just like every other state in this country, Arizona has laws regarding what type of insurance travelers must carry. Currently, the types and minimum amounts of insurance for drivers to remain legal on state roadways include the following:
It is important to point out that this state does not require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Some states do, and we strongly recommend that all drivers consider purchasing this type of coverage.
There are various consequences associated with driving uninsured in Arizona. First, drivers have to worry about the legal penalties associated with this violation. Under Arizona law, penalties for driving uninsured, for a first offense, include the following:
For a second offense, the penalties bump up to a $750 fine, a six-month suspension of the driver’s license, registration, and license plate, as well as SR-22 requirements for two years. Third and subsequent offenses bump the fine to $1,000 and the suspensions to one year, with SR-22 remaining at two years.
In addition to these legal penalties, individuals without insurance could be on the line for significant payments if they cause an accident. Typically, vehicle insurance is going to cover compensation for other driver and passenger medical bills and property damage expenses if you cause an accident. However, if you cause an accident and do not have insurance, the other parties involved could file a civil personal injury lawsuit against you directly, and you will have to pay out of your own assets to cover their expenses. You could be held personally responsible for compensating an injury victim for tens of thousands of dollars in personal injury damages.
We again want to stress the importance of purchasing uninsured motorist coverage. With around 12% of drivers in this state operating with no insurance, that is more than a one in ten chance that you will be involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. However, if you have uninsured motorist coverage, you will be able to turn to your own insurance carrier for medical bills, pain and suffering, and property damage compensation.
If you or somebody you care about has been injured in an accident caused by the actions of another driver, you need to reach out to a car accident attorney as soon as possible. If the other driver does not have insurance, your attorney will explore all routes towards recovering compensation for your losses. Call us today at (602) 759-0012.